Humboldt Research Award

Bence Nanay (2017)


Bence Nanay-2Nanay-thumb

Prof. Bence Nanay has been awarded a Senior Fellowship by the Alexander-von-Humboldt foundation for December 2017 where he will work on the development of a systematic account of perception. He obtained his PhD in philosophy in 2006 under the supervision of John Searle at the University of California, Berkeley and is currently Professor of Philosophy, BOF Research Professor and co-director of the Centre for Philosophical Psychology at the University of Antwerp. His areas of specialization include Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Biology and Aesthetics. Besides, he works in Philosophy of Psychology and Cognitive Science. Prof. Nanay has published extensively on the topics of perception, action and attention. Key publications include his monograph "Between Perception and Action" (2014, Oxford University Press), "The role of imagination in decision-making" (2016, Mind & Language), "Perceptual content and the content of mental imagery" (2015, Philosophical Studies), "A Modal Theory of Function" (2010, Journal of Philosophy) and "Attention and Perceptual Content" (2010, Analysis).


Eduard Machery (2017)


Machery Prof. Edouard Machery is a philosopher of science. He specializes in philosophy of cognitive science and neuroscience. Prof. Machery also works empirically, investigating moral psychology, semantics, and folk epistemology. This year, Prof. Machery has been awarded a Senior Fellowship by the Alexander-von-Humboldt foundation. In December 2017, he will be working with Prof. Newen to develop an empirical research program addressing recent controversies concerning concepts and animal cognition. Their joint work will foster and support the activities of the first experimental philosophy group in Germany which has been established in Bochum in 2014. Prof. Machery received his PhD in philosophy at the Universite de Paris-Sorbonne in 2004, and is currently Distinguished Professor at the Department of History and Philosophy of Science and the Department of Philosophy at the University of Pittsburgh. Key publications include his monograph "Doing without Concepts" (2009, Oxford University Press), "Gettier Across Cultures" (2016, Nous), "If intuitions vary, then what?" (2013, Philosophy and Phenomenological Research), "Two conceptions of subjective experience" (2010, Philosophical Studies), "Semantics, Cross-Cultural Style" (2004, Cognition).


Hans-Johann Glock (2014 - 2015)

Glock Hans-Johann Glock is Professor of Philoso- phy at the University of Zurich, and Visiting Professor at the University of Reading. Prof. Glock is a highly accomplished and re- nowned philosopher. His main contributions have been to four distinct areas of research: History of Analytic Philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Mind and Animals Cognition. For 2014-15 he received a Research Award of the Alexander of Humboldt Foundation. During his stay, he will collaborate with members of the Depart. of Philosophy II as well as the Center for Mind, Brain and Cognitive Evolution in Bochum. Alexander von Humboldt Research Award


Colin Allen (2010 - 2011)


Collin AllenColinallen Colin Allen is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Bloomington, Indiana. He is well-known internationally for his outstanding research in animal mind, philosophy of biology and artificial intelligence. It is characteristic for his work that he combines philosophical analysis with empirical cognitive sciences, especially relying on recent developments in animal research and robotics. Important books are entitled "Species of the Mind", "The Cognitive Animal" and "Moral Machines".



John Perry (2000)


Johnperry2Johnperry John Perry is currently Henry Waldgrave Stuart Professor of Philosophy at Stanford University and part of the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI.)

He has made significant contributions to areas of philosophy, including logic, philosophy of language, metaphysics, and philosophy of mind and is known primarily for his work on situation semantics (together with Jon Barwise), reflexivity, indexicality, and self-knowledge. Furthermore, he is well known for his contributions towards public understanding of science, including co-hosting the radio-show "Philosophy talk" and the humorous essay "Structured Procrastination", for which he was awarded the Ig Nobel Prize in Literature.

He received his B.A. in philosophy from Doane College in 1964 and his Ph.D. in philosophy from Cornell University in 1968. In 1999, he was awarded with the Jean Nicod Prize and became a member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in 2003.